About Us

Grassroots Economics is a non-profit foundation that seeks to empower marginalized communities to take charge of their own livelihoods and economic future. We focus on community development through economic empowerment and are dedicated to helping communities realize and share their abundance. While core beneficiaries of our programs include small businesses and people living in informal settlements as well as rural areas, the documentation and tools have been broadly applied worldwide. Read our charter.

Our goal is to improve the lives of those who are most vulnerable.

Our work builds on a rich history of community programs. We have implemented community currency programs in over 45 locations across Kenya and assisted with 2 in South Africa and helped more than 60,000 small businesses, churches and schools take an active role in their own economy and development. We are currently developing programs all over Kenya and providing technical support for those outside Kenya.


William (Lum) Luke

Senior Software Engineer

Will Ruddick


Damaris Njoroge

Program Coordinator

Sylvia Karanja

Data Quality Engineer

Amina Godana

Support Engineer

Janet Treezer

Support Engineer

Louis Holbrook

Lead Software Architect

Eckhard Volkmann

Regenerative Agricultural Advisor

Philip Wafula

Senior Software Engineer

Blair Vanderlugt

Software Team Lead

Mohammed Sohail

Senior Software Engineer

Joyce Kamauk

Support Engineer

Emmanuel Mbui

Support Engineer

Fransisca (Mami) Achieng

Field Support Engineer

A special thanks

Previous Advisors

Gustav Stromfelt

Holger Hoffmann-Riem

Reba Chabeda

Counsel Reza Zain Jaufeerally

Carmen Mauk

Professor Jem Bendell

Robert Mutsaers

Ahmed Maawy

Sponsors and Volunteers

Leila Kidson, Cara Eyre, Thibaud Dezyn, Jimmy Heyns, Henk Van Arkel, Elvis Ogweno, Annette Loudon, Chris Lindstrom, Christina Bordes, Elizabeth Weiland, Gilfrid Powys, Loucéro Mariani, Jim and Ellen Wagner, The Ruddick Family, The Kowa Family, Dawn Richards, Edmond Oklahoma United Methodist Women, Prof. Dr. Margrit Kennedy, Prof. Declan Kennedy, Dr. Jeremy Bendell, Xenia Heinze, Association TAOA, Jamie Brown, Kevin Cox, Sergio Lub, Hayem Etienne, Edgar Kampers, DELAMARE, David Hall, MULLER, Marie-Hélène, Barbara Schiess, Eva Vander Giessen, Joseph Leonardi, Susan Steed, Guido Hosman, Gabriel Grimsditch, Tobias Fields, Nemo Curiel, Hugo Godschalk, Guido Hosman, Lorne Covington, Bob and Margaret Macemon, Sergio Lub, Mark and Julie Richards, Carla Lundberg, PINTO Romain, Scott Williams, Barbara Schiess, Aaron Vaillancourt, Leander Bindewald, Brent Ranalli, Eric Harris-Braun, Martin Kreidenweis, Georg Pluta, Arthur Brock, Daniel Quay, Guy Staniforth